The 12 European Champions that “disappeared”!

05/Feb/18 10:11 February 6, 2018

Antigoni Zachari

05/Feb/18 10:11

The top club competition in Europe is currently in the 61st season of its existence, while it counts 21 different champions. Eurohoops looks back at what the 12 teams that no longer play in the competition have accomplished and presents their current situation.

By Stelios Toromanidis /

The EuroLeague, or, as it used to be called, the European Champions Cup, whether under the roof of FIBA or not, in any of its various formats, is the best that European basketball has to offer at the club level and is the favorite pastime of European basketball fans, while it has been engrossing millions of people in arenas, in front of TVs and radios every week for more than 60 years with its competition, intensity, spectacle and emotions.

Over the 60 seasons it exists, there have been 21 different teams that have won the precious trophy, originating from a total of 14 countries. Nine of those are still playing in the competition, while the rest are no longer among the best.

Real Madrid (9 trophies), CSKA Moscow (7 trophies), Maccabi Tel Aviv and Panathinaikos (6 trophies), Olympiacos and Armani Milan (3 trophies), Barcelona (2 trophies), Zalgiris Kaunas and Fenerbahce (1 trophy) are still integral parts of the EuroLeague to this day. But the sum of seasons they have dominated is numbered at 38. This means that the teams that won the other… 23 out of the total of 61 trophies – if we also take into account the 2000-2001 season when there were two different competitions – no longer take part in the competition.

Whether because of financial problems, or the change of the EuroLeague’s format, or other factors, there are 12 championship-winning teams that no longer participate in the competition. Despite their absence, they’ve played an important role in the past and their accomplishments are still remembered by basketball fans.

Seven of those teams have played in the EuroLeague in its current format (2000 to today), while the last of those exited in the 2015-2016 season. It’s worth mentioning that there is a team that played in the competition for the last time in the 1960-1961 season. Of course, this doesn’t mean that none of the trophy-winning teams will ever take part in the future among the elite of European teams.

We should point out that the order of presentation is random.