FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments tip-off times confirmed

2020-02-20T13:07:05+00:00 2020-02-20T13:07:51+00:00.

Antonis Stroggylakis

20/Feb/20 13:07

Four tournaments will be played for the Olympic Games Qualifiers

FIBA announced the complete schedule and timetable for the Qualifying Tournaments that will be held in June ahead of the Olympic Games in Tokyo.


Game times and schedules have been confirmed for the FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments that are to take place in Canada, Croatia, Lithuania and Serbia from June 23-28, 2020.

The first game of the Qualifiers will be played in Kaunas, Lithuania, when Angola will go up against Poland on June 23, with a 4:30 p.m. start, local time. The home fans will then have an opportunity to watch Lithuania in the second game, against Venezuela, with a 7:30 p.m. tip-off time.

In Split, Croatia, Germany and Mexico will get things underway in a June 23 clash that tips off locally at 4:30 p.m. Hosts Croatia will begin their campaign the following day, June 24, against Brazil with an 8:00 p.m. start.

Puerto Rico and Senegal will trade blows in the Serbia OQT’s curtain-raiser on June 23 in Belgrade with a 5:00 p.m. local time tip. The Serbian national team will then hit the Belgrade Arena court in the second game of the day and take on the Dominican Republic, a game that has an 8:15 p.m. tip.

Meanwhile, hosts Canada will take on Greece in a glitzy opener for the Olympic Qualifying Tournament in Victoria, Canada, starting at 4:05 p.m. local time.

Full schedules are available on the websites of the respective tournaments:

The winners of each of the four FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments will qualify for the 2020 Tokyo Men’s Olympic Basketball Tournament. They will join the eight teams that have already secured their Olympic berths.

Argentina, Australia, France, Iran, Nigeria, Spain and the United States qualified directly via the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019, while Japan qualified as the hosts of the Olympic Games.