Iberostar Tenerife wins the Intercontinental Cup

2017-09-24T22:51:36+00:00 2019-01-24T20:19:57+00:00.

Antonis Stroggylakis

24/Sep/17 22:51


Iberostar Tenerife are the new Intercontinental Trophy champions after beating Guaros De Lara in the Final.

By Eurohoops team/ info@eurohoops.net

Six months after conquering the inaugural Basketball Champions League, Iberostar Tenerife also won the first Intercontinental Cup title in the history of the franchise.

The Spaniards defeated FIBA Americas League champions Guaros De Lara, Venezuela who didn’t manage to do the repeat after a 76 – 71 loss in San Cristobal De La Laguna.

Tenerife Newcomer Mike Tobey flirted with the double/double after posting 21 points (10/13 from the field) and nine rebounds and winning MVP honors in the process. Davin White scored 14 points and Nicolas Richotti 11.

Mario Little dropped 23 points from Guaros De Lara and captain Gregory Echenique added 11. Three-time NBA Slam Dunk champion Nate Robinson finished with 10 points plus 6 assists.