Burgos becomes the ninth ACB team to play in European finals the last decade

2020-10-03T16:24:25+00:00 2020-10-03T16:47:26+00:00.

Antonis Stroggylakis

03/Oct/20 16:24


Spanish teams have been dominating the European basketball scene in various competitions.

By Eurohoops team / info@eurohoops.net

The Spanish ACB League has been widely considered as being consistently the top domestic championship in Europe over the last decades. And it’s not because Liga Endesa is featuring powerhouses like Real Madrid or Barcelona, but mainly due to the depth of quality among many other teams in the league.

This depth is also demonstrated in the long and successful runs that numerous ACB teams are having on a continental level. The most recent example is 2020 Basketball Champions League finalist San Pablo Burgos.

By advancing to the BCL Final, Burgos became the ninth ACB team to compete in a European championship game this last decade. The other eight teams are Real Madrid (2015 and 2018 EuroLeague champion plus 2013 and 2014 finalist), Barcelona (2010 EuroLeague champion), Valencia (2010, 2014 and 2019 EuroCup champion plus 2017 finalist), Unicaja Malaga (2017 EuroCup champion), Iberostar Tenerife (2017 BCL champion and 2019 finalist), Gran Canaria (2015 EuroCup finalist), Bilbao (2013 EuroCup finalist) and Cajasol (2011 EuroCup finalist).

Four other ACB teams have made it as far as the Top of 4 of European competitions: Baskonia (2016 EuroLeague semifinalist), Andorra (2018 EuroCup semifinalist), (Murcia 2018 BCL semifinalist) and Zaragoza (2020 BCL semifinalist).