ABA second division to be played in bubbles

2020-11-02T16:26:32+00:00 2020-11-02T17:04:12+00:00.

Giannis Askounis

02/Nov/20 16:26


A different kind of approach to the 2020-21 season for the second division of the ABA League

By Johnny Askounis/ info@eurohoops.net

The coronavirus pandemic forcing adjustments to traditional schedules affects the ABA League second division as well. The plan in place for the 2020-21 season directs teams into three separate bubbles, the league announced Monday confirming an earlier report by MozzartSport.

The 14 sides, Borac, Gorica, Helios Suns, Lovcen, Mladost, MZT, Podgorica, Rabotnicki, Sloboda, Spars, Studentski Centar, Sutjeska, Siroki, and Zlatibor, will face each other once in a round-robin format stretched through the assigned bubble locations.

Per the press release: “The Regular season will be split in three tournaments with two tournaments featuring four rounds and the last one five rounds. It will be played in a round-robin system and after 13 rounds there will be Playoffs (with eight teams) and Play-out (with 4 teams).

The first tournament will take place between 9 November and 18 November 2020 and the host will be Čajetina Municipality and KK Zlatibor.

-The Regular Season will be played in a round-robin system with each team facing each other once in 13 rounds.

-Based on the results and position of the clubs in the standings after regular season, Playoffs with teams from 1st to 8th place will take place and Play-out with teams from 11th to 14th place.

-The Quarterfinals will be played in knockout pairs 1-8, 2-7, 3-6, 4-5. The winners of the Quarterfinals will qualify to the Semifinals and the winners of the Semifinals will play the Final.

-Playout will be played in knockout pairs 11-14, 12-13. The defeated teams will play for the final 13th and 14th places in the standings.”